Faculty and Staff working remotely due to COVID-19

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Martin School faculty and staff are working partly remotely for the fall 2020 semester. Please email us with general questions. Click here to find faculty and staff contact information. Click here for details on UK's plan for Fall 2020

Kentucky Public Service Hall of Fame

The Kentucky Public Service Hall of Fame was established in 2012 by the University of Kentucky's Martin School of Public Policy and Administration to recognize leaders who have demonstrated extraordinary public service to their communities and state.


Robert M. "Mike" Duncan

Mike Duncan
Chairman of the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships, Former Chair Republican National Committee

Mike Duncan is the 17th chairman of the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships. Appointed by President Donald J. Trump in 2017, Mr. Duncan leads one of America's most prestigious programs for leadership and public service.

In addition, Mr. Duncan, a 40-year political strategist and veteran of Republican politics, served as the 60th chairman of the Republican National Committee (RNC) from 2007-2009. As RNC Chairman, he raised an unprecedented $428 million dollars and grew the donor base to 1.8 million – more donors than at any time in RNC history.


Jerry Abramson

Former Mayor of Louisville KY

Jerry Abramsom served a total of 21 years as Louisville's mayor, where he earned the nickname "Mayor for Life." He left local government in 2011 to serve as Kentucky's Lieutenant Governor in Frankfort under former Gov. Steve Beshear.  He left Kentucky for Washington in November, 2014 to join President Barack Obama's administration as Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, a position he held until January 2017. 


Hal Rogers

Hal Rogers
U.S. Representative for Kentucky's 5th congressional district

First elected in 1982 and now in his 20th term, Congressman Rogers is the longest-serving member of the Kentucky Congressional delegation. He is also the longest serving Kentucky Republican ever elected to federal office. Congressman Rogers served as Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee from 2011 to 2016 where he restored regular order and a culture on the Committee for serious budget oversight and transparency in process. With more than 30 years of experience on the Appropriations Committee, he has served on eight different subcommittees, including leadership roles as Chairman or Ranking Member of three. Rogers was tapped in 2003 to lead the newly established Subcommittee on Homeland Security.


Merl Hackbart

Merl Hackbart
Professor of Finance and Public Administration

Dr. Merl Hackbart is a Professor at the Martin School and Provost’s Distinguished Service Professor of Finance and Public Administration. His research has focused on public financial management including debt management, public pension funds, popular financial reporting and state government structural budget issues. He has previously served as Interim Dean and Associate Dean of the Gatton College of Business and Economics at UK and as a member of the Kentucky Council for Postsecondary Education and the Kentucky Consensus Revenue Forecasting Group. He has also served twice as Budget Director for the Commonwealth of Kentucky and as a Senior Policy Advisor to the Governor of Kentucky. He is a past President of the Association of Budgeting and Financial Management.

Crit Luallen

Crit Luallen
Former Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky, Trailblazer in Public Policy

Former Lieutenant Governor Crit Luallen is known as one of Kentucky’s most experienced and respected public leaders, after serving with seven Governors and being elected twice to statewide office. In 2019 the Martin School acknowledged her as a Trailblazer in Public Policy

Appointed by Governor Steve Beshear as Kentucky’s 56th Lieutenant Governor, Luallen partnered with the Governor in his ongoing efforts to build a stronger Kentucky through job creation and expanded access to health care. As Lt. Governor she chaired kyhealthnow, an initiative to develop strategies and track progress toward a healthier Kentucky.


Albert P. Smith, Jr.

Albert P Smith Jr, revered journalist.

Al Smith is a dedicated journalist, columnist, author, editor, publisher, and television host. He started his career in Louisiana only to find his way back to Kentucky editing the Russellville News-Democrat weekly paper. He went on to become the owner and publisher of several rural newspapers, starting Al Smith Communications in 1968.


Pam Miller

Former Mayor of Lexington, KY, Martin School Trailblazer in Public Policy

Pam Miller has dedicated her life to serving the Bluegrass and the Commonwealth of Kentucky. She served as mayor of Lexington-Fayette County from 1993-2003, the first woman to do so, and prior to that, she served on the Urban County Council from 1974-77 (the first woman elected to public office) and again from 1980-1993. Her legacy is the rural preservation program which will save a significant part of Fayette County's remarkable landscape in perpetuity.


Leonard and Lillian Press

Founder of Kentucky Educational Television

Lillian and Len Press entered graduate school together in 1947 at Boston University. They moved to Kentucky where Len became fascinated in the power of the new technology of television to improve basic education throughout the Commonwealth. This dream and years of harvesting financial and political support would grow into KET. KET has helped unite Kentuckians with shows about the state’s arts, history, culture and public affairs . In 1961 "Lil" became a volunteer for the newly formed Central Kentucky Mental Health Association and was significant in the later development of Kentucky's' statewide mental health system of community mental health centers. Lillian Press was appointed Executive Assistant to Commissioner of Kentucky Department of Mental Health. She was recruited to organize and direct Kentucky's Governor's Scholars Program.


Wendell H Ford

Wendell H Ford
Former Senator and 53rd Governor of Kentucky

Ford was the 53rd governor of Kentucky, before serving 24 years in the U.S Senate between 1974 and 1999. Prior to these roles, Mr. Ford served in the Kentucky State Senate and as Lieutenant Governor. “Ford was the Hall of Fame’s inaugural inductee in 2012. Ford commented, "What you do for yourself dies with you; what you do for others lives on," Ford said. "I hope in my lifetime that I have left some marks that will be helpful." Ford concluded his remarks with some words for students. "Washington is a wonderful place," he said. "Frankfort is a wonderful place. City government is a wonderful place. But it is a wonderful place after you go through the University of Kentucky’s Martin School, where you learn how to operate in those places."

Also add Senator Ford, a native of Daviess County, passed away on January 22, 2015 at the age of 90.