The William E. Lyons Award for Outstanding Service

The William E. Lyons Award Committee requests nominations for the William E. Lyons Award for Outstanding Service. This award is given each year to an individual associated with the university who has given outstanding service to the University of Kentucky, the community, or the Commonwealth. It is named in honor of Dr. William E. Lyons (1935-1994), Professor of Political Science and Public Administration, Director of the Martin School, Chair of the Political Science Department, Chair of the Lexington-Fayette County Merger Commission, member of the Urban County Council, and chair or member of various other university and government committees.

Those wishing to nominate a person for this award, which consists of an honorarium of $500 and a plaque, should submit a letter of nomination which includes information about the nominee’s career accomplishments and, especially, his or her service contributions to the University, the community, and the state of Kentucky. Nominations must include the name, address telephone number and email address of the nominator. If possible, please include a vita or résumé of the person you nominate.

All nominations should be submitted by mail or email to:

William E. Lyons Award Committee
419 Patterson Office Tower
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY  40506-00027

The deadline for nominations is generally March 1st

William E. Lyons Award Recipients

Year Recipient

Gilbert Friedell


Carolyn S. Bratt

1997 Joseph P. Straley
1998 Ronald D. Eller
1999 Donald C. Haney
2000 Lauretta F. Byars
2001 Daniel R. Reedy
2002 Thomas S. Foster
2003 Jack C. Blanton
2004 Wimberly C. Royster
2005 Penny M. Miller
2006 Ellen K. Hahn
2007 Joseph L. Fink, III
2008 Merl Hackbart
2009 Hatim Omar
2010 Ernest Yanarella
2011 Patrick P. Deluca 
2012 TK Logan and Carol Jordan
2013 M. Scott Smith
2014 Kenneth R. Troske
2015 Eugenia F. Toma
2016 Allison Connelly
2017 D. Stephen Voss
2018 Paul Eakin
2019 Anne-Frances Miller
2020 Bill and Mary Witt