Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Mike Duncan

A Kentuckian whose career has touched the highest levels of government and politics over the course of four decades, Robert M. (Mike) Duncan of Inez, will be inducted into the Kentucky Public Service Hall of Fame on November 22 at Spindletop Hall in Lexington.

The Hall of Fame was established by the University of Kentucky’s Martin School of Public Policy and Administration in 2012 to recognize individuals for outstanding achievement in public service. Last year’s honoree was long-time Louisville Mayor Jerry Abramson.

“Mike Duncan’s career personifies the meaning of citizen involvement in government service and the political process,” said Ron Zimmer, Director of UK’s Martin School. “He has affected public policy in countless ways from both inside and outside of government. He has served with distinction in every position he has held, earning widespread respect for his dedication and commitment.”

Duncan currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Governors of the U.S. Postal Service and also chairs the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships. His federal government service began in 1989 with an appointment to the President’s Commission on Executive Exchange. Duncan was also assistant director of the White House Office of Public Liaison under President George H.W. Bush. He was on the Tennessee Valley Authority’s Board of Directors from 2006-2011, serving as the Board’s chair from 2009-2010.

In addition to his government service, Duncan was Chairman of the Republican National Committee from 2007-2009 and President and CEO of the American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity. He has been involved in teaching democracy to former communist leaders through the International Republican Institute and he participated in the East/West Institute’s U.S. China High Level Political Party Leaders Dialogue.

He is Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Alice Lloyd College in Pippa Passes, Kentucky, and Chairman and CEO of the Inez Deposit Bank. He holds degrees from the University of the Cumberlands and UK’s College of Law.