Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Martin School Mission Statement

The Martin School of Public Policy and Administration excels in research, education, and service by applying our intellectual and other resources to public policy and management issues.

We accomplish our unique purpose by:

  • Engaging in cutting-edge, policy analytic research.
  • Preparing students in our programs to be future leaders able to bridge the gap between analysis and action.
  • Providing service to the Commonwealth of Kentucky, nation, and international communities.
  • Providing an innovative environment reflective of commitment, strategic thinking, and integrity in public service.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commitment Statement

The Martin School is committed to diversity through our classes, programs, and by creating a general culture of inclusiveness, where a wide array of viewpoints and lived experiences are heard and respected. Diversity, equity, and inclusiveness are particularly important for a school of public policy and administration as we must educate future public servants who understand the value of diversity and have the tools to confront inequity in its many forms. Both historical and current policies may create or perpetuate inequity through institutional and structural racism, income inequality, gender bias, and more. As policy experts and scholars, we understand that policy is an important tool to combat discrimination against marginalized groups, and the Martin School can help our students and alumni confront inequity as we train them in their coursework and as we support them in their careers. Therefore, the Martin School is committed to making diversity and equity a central tenet of our curriculum, extracurricular programming, and recruitment plans. We will ask for feedback from current students, alumni, and other Martin School stakeholders along the way and make adjustments as often as needed to ensure our actions reflect our stated commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusivity.

Meet the DEI Committee

Ron Zimmer, Profile

Ron Zimmer Director, Martin School of Public Policy and Administration

Meet the Board of Visitors

Our Board of Visitors connects our students to the greater public policy community. They also very generously provide their time, guidance, and support for our most important events including the Alumni and Friends Banquet where we honor our Distinguished Alumni and induct Kentucky greats into the Public Service Hall of Fame. They are the driving force behind the Wendell H. Ford Lecture every year. 

Distinguished Alumni

2023 Distinguished Alumna Brigitte Blom is the latest to join this prestigious group.

Kentucky Public Service Hall of Fame

The Kentucky Public Service Hall of Fame was established in 2012 by the University of Kentucky's Martin School of Public Policy and Administration to recognize leaders who have demonstrated extraordinary public service to their communities and state.

Our History

Learn more about the origin of the institution.

William E. Lyons Award for Outstanding Service

This award was given annually to an individual associated with the university who has given outstanding service to the University of Kentucky, the community, or the Commonwealth. It is named in honor of Dr. William E. Lyons (1935-1994), Professor of Political Science and Public Administration, Director of the Martin School, Chair of the Political Science Department, Chair of the Lexington-Fayette County Merger Commission, member of the Urban County Council, and chair or member of various other university and government committees.

2020 - Bill and Mary Witt

2019 - Anne-Frances Miller

2018 - Paul Eakin

2017 - D. Stephen Voss

2016 - Allison Connelly

2015 - Eugenia F. Toma

2014 - Kenneth R. Troske

2013 - M. Scott Smith

2012 - TK Logan and Carol Jordan

2011 - Patrick P. Deluca 

2010 - Ernest Yanarella

2009 - Hatim Omar

2008 - Merl Hackbart

2007 - Joseph L. Fink, III

2006 - Ellen K. Hahn

2005 - Penny M. Miller

2004 - Wimberly C. Royster

2003 - Jack C. Blanton

2002 - Thomas S. Foster

2001 - Daniel R. Reedy

2000 - Lauretta F. Byars

1999 - Donald C. Haney

1998 - Ronald D. Eller

1997 - Joseph P. Straley

1996 - Carolyn S. Bratt

1995 - Gilbert Friedell