Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

The Martin School hosted the three authors of The Injustice of Place, for a discussion of the book's research and findings from 4-5:30 p.m. February 22, 2024 at the W.T. Young Auditorium. Dr. Kathrn J. Edin, Dr. Timothy J. Nelson and Dr. H. Luke Shaefer took questions from a deeply engaged audience after giving a short presenation about the work. 

Students, faculty, and others read the book in a Book Club series leading up to the event. By the time of the event, audience members are primed to ask further questions, share their insights, and engage with the issues on a much deeper level. Our DEI Committee Members work hard to make sure the event is well advertised, engaged and supported. We are glad to see this kind of program put on year after year.  

This marks the second year of this stellar series, hosted by The Martin School but sponsored primarily by an funding from the Miriam Jane Van Dyke Barager Endowment for Diversity and Inclusion, and jointly by: The Appalachian Center and & Appalachian Studies Program, The Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment Office of Diversity, the College of Arts & Sciences Department of Sociology, and the Graduate School Office of Diversity and Inclusion